2022 Galing Pook Awards Finalists

One of the prestigious awards for local government units (LGUs) in the Philippines is the Galing Pook Awards. Bagging the Galing Pook Awards means passing through a needle in a three-layered screening process. Hence, only a few dares to compete and only ten would come out victorious.

For the 2022 Galing Pook Awards, 196 applied to showcase their programs. Of this number, 30 programs advanced to the site validation stage and were interviewed by the National Selection Committee in the last two months. The 30 was further trimmed to 18 and these will be competing in the final round of panel interview and presentation on November 21, 2022.

The Board of Judges is composed of leaders from the business, civil society, media, academe and public sector, and chaired by DILG Secretary Benhur Abalos.

According to Galing Pook Foundation Executive Director, Georgina Hernandez-yang, “This year’s set of finalists features a wide range of LGU programs that address the needs of Filipinos – agriculture, health, education, disaster risk reduction, peace and development, poverty alleviation, heritage and tourism, and digital governance. With the multiple challenges brought by the pandemic, climate change, and poverty, hopefully these promising programs could serve as models and inspiration for other LGUs nationwide.”

The local government program finalists come from the following LGUs: 

  1. Alcala, Cagayan: “Green Wall of Alcala”
  2. Bacoor City Cavite: ‘Kabataang Bacooreño, At Home Ka Dito (Residential Child Care Services)”
  3. Basilan Province: “Advancing and Sustaining Good Governance and Community Actions towards Resiliency and Empowerment”
  4. Bataan Province: “1Bataan Seal of Healthy Barangay”
  5. Bataan Province: “Bataan Public-Private Partnership Programs”
  6. Biñan City, Laguna: “Balik-Biñan Project: Tourism Development through Heritage Conservation”
  7. Cagayan de Oro City: “Making Dreams Come True: Providing Better Access to Quality Education in Cagayan de Oro City”
  8. Barangay Cayabu, Tanay Rizal: “Building Community Resiliency, Sustainability, and Strengthening Local Government Ability to Prepare for Hazards through Agri-Fishery”
  9. Davao City: “Mental Wellness Center for the Homeless (MCWH)”
  10. Goa, Camarines Sur: “Trekking to Unlock Community Ailments and Difficulties (TUCAD)”
  11. Barangay Hayanggabon, Claver, Surigao del Norte: “Brgy. Hayanggabon Health Services”
  12. Iloilo City: “I-BIKE: A Program Promoting the Development of the Iloilo City Bike Culture”
  13. Itbayat, Batanes: “Yaru: a Whole-of-Community Approach Towards Disaster Management”
  14. Libertad, Antique: “Libertad Fish Forever Savings Club”
  15. Paglat, Maguindanao: “Creation of Community Leaders and Military Police Advisory Council (CLAMP-AC)”
  16. Palayan, Nueva Ecija: “Palayan City People’s Cold Storage Program”
  17. Piddig, Ilocos Norte: “Basta Piddigueño, AgriHenyo: Consolidated Farm Production System”
  18. Pulilan, Bulacan: “Pulilan Community Connect”

So, who do you think will this year’s likely winner? Drop a comment below.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: